Featured image for post: What is Chakra?

What is Chakra?

You may be wondering, “What is chakra?” and “What does chakra mean?” Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that means “wheel” or “cycle.” It is believed that a person has seven main chakras in their body. A person’s chakras are believed to be their body’s energy centers, which are constantly spinning, allowing them to connect their spiritual and physical bodies to achieve a more balanced state.

What Are the 7 Main Chakras?

So, “What is chakra?” let’s discuss what the seven main chakras do. Seven main chakras are located along a person’s spine. Each chakra has its own purpose and is responsible for different life values, and each chakra affects how a person experiences reality. Look at each of the seven main chakras and their unique responsibilities.

The Root Chakra

Translated from “Muladhara” in Sanskrit, the root chakra is located at the spine’s base, the foundation of your energy system. This chakra determines how you connect with other people and elements outside your body, and it satisfies our basic needs like food, shelter, and safety. The color red and the earth element represent the root chakra.

The Sacral Chakra

“Svadhisthana” in Sanskrit, the sacral chakra is located in the pelvic region, at the base of the navel. It represents your sexuality and is known as the body’s creative center. Here, your body can connect with others and freely express your emotions and creativity. The color orange and the water element represent the sacral chakra.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is located between the rib cage and the navel, representing your identity’s core. Translated from the Sanskrit “Manipura,” this chakra helps you take action. Physically, your solar plexus chakra affects your digestion, eyesight, and agility, and it is represented by the color yellow and the fire element.

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located near the thoracic spine, and it’s associated with the color green and the element of air. The Sanskrit word Anahata, meaning “unstuck,” represents the body’s ability to form strong relationships with others and to love freely. This chakra is also associated with generosity, compassion, and love.

The Throat Chakra

The Sanskrit word “Vishuddha” is associated with the neck, tongue, mouth, and other physical attributes near your throat. Represented by the color blue and the ether element, your throat chakra is responsible for a person’s ability to be authentic, creative, and clearly express themself to others.

The Third Eye Chakra

Your Ajna, or third eye chakra, is located behind your forehead and between your eyebrows. Since it represents a connection between the mind and body, this chakra is associated with balance, connection, and spiritual intuition. It is associated with the color indigo and the light element.

The Crown Chakra

Located at the top of the head, your Sahasrara, or crown chakra, is believed to be the source of all chakras and the highest energy center of a person’s body. It is represented by the color violet and is responsible for your spiritual consciousness and ability to connect to the infinite and limitless.

A woman sits in a meditation pose with her chakra points highlighted and listed out by nameWhat is Chakra Meditation?

Chakra meditation comes in many forms and with a variety of goals. Some of these practices are intended to provide healing, while others lead you toward spiritual awakening. Other sessions of chakra meditation focus on the relaxation of the physical body.

How is Mindfulness Related to Chakra Meditation?

Chakra meditation and mindfulness offer similar end goals, and many people practice each method to learn new ways to decrease stress and improve their physical health. Each method also focuses on a person’s thoughts to be more grounded. The two practices differ when it comes to your spiritual beliefs. Mindfulness does not require beliefs beyond hoping that the practice will be beneficial.

Find Chakra Flow Yoga Classes in Queen Creek

If you are interested in learning more about chakra meditation, we’d be happy to discuss it with you. Zenlife Center For Healing offers several chakra flow yoga classes designed for people at every skill level. Our instructors will gently guide you through each class, and beginners are always welcome. Stop by and visit or contact us today. We would love to be a part of your wellness journey.

Image Source: Maksim Shmeljov / Dmytro Flisak / Shutterstock